• April 19, 2019

Factbox: Conservative lawmakers who have switched to back UK PM May’s Brexit deal

LONDON (Reuters) – Prime Minister Theresa Might will put a stripped-down model of her twice-defeated Brexit divorce deal to a vote in parliament on Friday in an try to interrupt the deadlock over the UK’s exit from the European Union.

A road vendor promoting Union Jack flags passes outdoors the Homes of Parliament, following the Brexit votes the earlier night, in London, Britain, March 28, 2019. REUTERS/Alkis Konstantinidis

Might’s deal, an try to retain shut buying and selling and safety ties with the EU whereas leaving the bloc’s formal political constructions, was defeated by 230 votes in parliament on Jan. 15, and by 149 votes on March 12.

Some eurosceptic opponents of the deal have mentioned they’ve modified their minds and can again it slightly than danger a protracted delay to Breixt and even Britain staying within the bloc.

To get her deal accepted, Might must win over lots of the 75 lawmakers in her Conservative Occasion who opposed it earlier than.

Beneath is the checklist of Conservative lawmakers who voted in opposition to the deal on March 12 and the way they plan to vote on Friday:


1) Conor Burns

2) Michael Fabricant

three) Esther McVey

four) Daniel Kawczynski

5) Royston Smith

6) Robert Courts

7) James Grey

eight) Henry Smith

9) Gordon Henderson

10) Rehman Chishti

11) John Whittingdale

12) Pauline Latham

13) Charlie Elphicke

14) Boris Johnson

15) Jacob Rees-Mogg

16) Iain Duncan Smith

17) Simon Clarke

18) Damian Collins

19) Ross Thomson

20) Mark Harper

21) Anne-Marie Trevelyan

22) Craig Tracey

23) Dominic Raab

24) Anne Foremost

Reported in media to be supporting, however haven’t confirmed it publicly:

25) Shailesh Vara

26) Tom Pursglove

27) Sheryll Murray

28) Lucy Allan

29) Richard Bacon

30) Eddie Hughes

31) Crispin Blunt


1) William Money

2) John Redwood

three) Mark Francois

four) Owen Paterson

5) Steve Baker

6) Andrea Jenkyns

7) Dominic Grieve

eight) Christopher Chope

9) John Baron

10) David Jones


1) Adam Afriyie

2) Guto Bebb

three) Peter Bone

four) Suella Braverman

5) Andrew Bridgen

6) Richard Drax

7) James Duddridge

eight) Michael Fallon

9) Marcus Fysh

10) Chris Inexperienced

11) Justine Greening

12) Sam Gyimah

13) Philip Hollobone

14) Adam Holloway

15) Ranil Jayawardena

16) Bernard Jenkin

17) Gareth Johnson

18) Joseph Johnson

19) Phillip Lee

20) Andrew Lewer

21) Julian Lewis

22) Ian Liddell-Grainger

23) Julia Lopez

24) Jonathan Lord

25) Craig MacKinlay

26) Anne Marie Morris

27) Laurence Robertson

28) Andrew Rosindell

29) Lee Rowley

30) Grant Shapps

31) Bob Stewart

32) Michael Tomlinson

33) Theresa Villiers

34) Priti Patel

Reporting By Andrew MacAskill, Kylie MacLellan and Elisabeth O’Leary; modifying by Stephen Addison


Read Previous

Daimler buys Torc Robotics stake for self-driving trucks

Read Next

Brexit at a crossroads: May puts her deal to ‘last chance’ vote in parliament

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *